Create a better waveplayer for effect creators

Special collaborative projects managed by SynthMaker users

Moderators: electrogear, exonerate

Create a better waveplayer for effect creators

Postby aliasant on Fri Sep 21, 2007 6:00 am

I have used Exonerates Waveplayer that has loop start and end markers.
Great one Exonerate.

I added a lot of small things. Changed some and so on. It is a bit buggy I think but its nice. I added a Jog-shuttle style knob and a REW +FFW button.

Also added a Play/Stop button. Not ideal. I would like it to be a Play/Pause button and then a Stop/Return to Start button but I dont know how to do that.. yet.. if ever..

Also... added a selectable midi input control.

And finally I added a Gain output with L&R VU meters + dB readings.


This one needs work. Optimizing but I think we really need to have one good player we can depend on. One that can be in the toolbox maybe?

Now that SM is at version 1.08 and the waveplayer in the toolbox has been updated maybe we can fix this player too?

I have no idea what was changed in 1.08 to the waveplayer but I know that it corrected some problems that I have with this player.


Anyone wants to help out with this one?

Image



Edit: Forgot to say that .. here is the .osm file.

http://martin.rodensjo.se/File%20Shack/ ... op1.02.rar
User avatar
aliasant
smunatic
 
Posts: 2388
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 5:49 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby exonerate on Fri Sep 21, 2007 8:42 pm

Hi,

I'm planning to update my sample looper, when i do this (should be in the next day or two) i'll make the changes in your example as well, and upload that to this thread.

I've had a quick look at your example and the CPU was very high, it's denormals that are causing it.

If you remove the smooth code before the step input (on the loop/counter module), the CPU should go down.

cheers ;)

exo
Flowstone Guru Blog and download site for Flowstone /Synthmaker!
Fightware - My Mobile fitness apps.
User avatar
exonerate
smaniac
 
Posts: 1504
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 1:57 pm
Location: England, West Yorkshire, Huddersfield

Postby aliasant on Fri Sep 21, 2007 9:23 pm

Hi Exonerate.

I took that Smooth away but I cant wee no difference.
Before cpu was at 1.6% and after just the same.
Maybe it depends on what kind of cpu's you have?
I have a mac so I have Intel Xeon processors. i think that is x86 ?

Great about updating it.

I just noticed a dumb bug in this.
If I use the rew key or jogshuttle and rewind I can rew beyond the sart of the audiofile.
Way beyond and then I have to FFW until I hear sound again =)

Maybe there should be a limit there?

This module really needs to be good I think.
I use it all the time since I mostly make fx and not synths.

In Reaktor theres the built in Audiofile player. Wish there was something like that in SM but a good module would do.

Another thing i thougt of.. Is it possible to make it load mp3 files as well?

Everyone has a big library with mp3 files they could use when creating fx.
But to have music to play thru the fx we have to convert our mp3 files to wav. Kind of unecessary. Would be great if it could read mp3 files.

Would be nice too if your building a sampler. mp3 files would do well enough for many projects and that would keep the size down on the vst instruments.
User avatar
aliasant
smunatic
 
Posts: 2388
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 5:49 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby exonerate on Sat Sep 22, 2007 11:33 am

Is there a reason for it being mono?

It's just i'm working on it at the moment, and because it's mono i'm going to have to implement extra code to deal with it being mono.

Mono streams are on all the time so for a sampler this means that the sample index is continually growing unless loop is on and then it will just loop forever. So basically this means that extra code is needed to reset the mono stream every time you press play to ensure the sample starts at the correct point.

I think it would be better if the sample looper was in poly and you convert to mono after it.

I'm going to change it to poly anyway and then i can just reuse the code to update the wiki version. I can do a mono version if you like but i think it unnecessary, and a poly version will be more efficient as it will only use CPU when the sample is playing instead of all the time.

cheers ;)

Exo
Flowstone Guru Blog and download site for Flowstone /Synthmaker!
Fightware - My Mobile fitness apps.
User avatar
exonerate
smaniac
 
Posts: 1504
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 1:57 pm
Location: England, West Yorkshire, Huddersfield

Postby aliasant on Sat Sep 22, 2007 1:27 pm

exonerate wrote:Is there a reason for it being mono?

I think it would be better if the sample looper was in poly and you convert to mono after it.

Exo


haha. Oo.. well.. hmm.. That was just me beeing dumb as usual.
I had this idea that if it is mono it should use less cpu + that effects are almost always in mono... but of course.
You make it the way you think it works best =)

I often have a vision of how something should work and feel.
But its rare for me to actually know how to implement it.
If I do something right its always luck =)


Was it possible to have a play/pause button and a Stop/Go to beginning button?
Just like the transport of most sequencers?

An other thing I forgot to mention.
Would be very nice to have a Play line indicating were in the wavefile it is actually playing. Again like any sequencer.
User avatar
aliasant
smunatic
 
Posts: 2388
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 5:49 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby exonerate on Sat Sep 22, 2007 2:16 pm

Ok i've updated your player........

http://www.box.net/shared/t1vyzex5fi

it now uses the new double precision components.

I've added a time bar as well,

For me though with this version i'm getting very high CPU usage, and adding the time bar seemed to add to it alot, i'll let you test it and see if you have the same problem.

The high CPU is strange because i'v just updated my version and the CPU is fine but in yours it's very high.

As for the play/pause i've not come up with a way to do that just yet, but at the moment i am also working on a sampler (it's a sample slicer plugin)
and i'd also like such a thing, so i'll work on that soon, if and when i pull it off i'll let you know ;)

cheers ;)

Exo
Flowstone Guru Blog and download site for Flowstone /Synthmaker!
Fightware - My Mobile fitness apps.
User avatar
exonerate
smaniac
 
Posts: 1504
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 1:57 pm
Location: England, West Yorkshire, Huddersfield

Postby aliasant on Sun Sep 23, 2007 10:17 pm

HI exo.

Looking at the new player =)

I did put back the jogshuttle and rew ffw + I added a pause button.

Realised that the timebar/line is following the samplerate wixh is 44100 but the audiofile I loaded is 48kHz so the timeline is beeing offset. Ill try to make the timeline follow the audiofiles samplerate instead. That should work.

Ill update this post soon. Just wanted to inform that I was on it.
User avatar
aliasant
smunatic
 
Posts: 2388
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 5:49 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby aliasant on Mon Sep 24, 2007 2:32 am

Ok.
Its starting to look and work better but there are some odditys.

I'll list them as they come to mind....

1. If I unselect "Loop" it starts playing from 0 even if the startpoint
(Loop Start Point) is somewere else. It makes sence... but
sometimes we want it to play a single hit but within start and end markers.
For drum sounds or what ever.

2. If rewinded to before 0 it keeps on rewinding outside the audiofile.
Sould be nice if the index never got under 0 but instead went to the
endpoint. Just the same as when you FFW. If forward to beyond the
endpoint it starts from the startpoint again. Looped.

2B. If I go to Reverse mode and play there is some serious aliasing or something. it sounds quite bad played in revers. BUT. If I play normally and use the shuttlknob to reverse it it sounds fine. So that reverse thing needs to be redone some how.

These 2 points are connected and there should be a better solution.
I noticed that inside the "Precise Counter" there is a modul called "forward/reverse selector" This is were the problem might be..


3. There is something wrong with C3. ( maybe it is C4. not sure )The key on my midi keyboard.
It works like a mono key with out retriggering, even thoug all other keys work just fine.
Very strange. Is this just me and my keyboard or is there a bug in the midi? This doesnt happen with any other synths in SM. Just tried the example synth. Works just great.



Wishes....

1.
Would be nice if one could click, hold and drag the playbar
as a live scrub thing. Only when in Pause mode.
I realise this might be hard to do but in my dreams it isnt =)

2.
If we could have 2 buttons by the "Load wavefile" button.
One name + or Next and the other named - or Prev.
Those could with a single click load the next or previous wave file.

Would save a lot of time and make things easyer =)

I have worked out the logic for the play button and midi. Try it. Works great now. The play button also acts like a midi activity signal.

I will upload the file soon but unfortunatly I have to reboot to mac to do that.
Last edited by aliasant on Mon Sep 24, 2007 3:08 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
aliasant
smunatic
 
Posts: 2388
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 5:49 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby Andrew J on Mon Sep 24, 2007 2:38 am

I've previously mod'ed exo's wave player also and added play/pause, looping, file cursor and a few other things (like play all files in a directory one after another). Problem is that mine also suffers from high CPU usage (Acrobat - look at the windows task manager as well as the SM usage meter, it might give you a surprise).

I was going to try and do a bit more work to optimise it, but haven't got around to it yet. Anyway have a look if you like:

http://www.box.net/shared/s7xl65bv8e
Andrew J
smanatic
 
Posts: 617
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 4:53 am
Location: Australia

Postby aliasant on Mon Sep 24, 2007 2:46 am

(like play all files in a directory one after another)

edit:


I will have a look on that osm =) Thanx
User avatar
aliasant
smunatic
 
Posts: 2388
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 5:49 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby aliasant on Mon Sep 24, 2007 3:54 am

This is version 1.031

Lots of new things.

Those of you that thinks this is a cpu hog. Please report your system setup. CPU type, memory and what not..
I don think this uses a lot of cpu. Under 1% for me.

Image

Here's a download:

http://martin.rodensjo.se/File%20Shack/ ... 01.031.rar
User avatar
aliasant
smunatic
 
Posts: 2388
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 5:49 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby aliasant on Mon Sep 24, 2007 10:25 am

Andrew3
I've previously mod'ed exo's wave player also and added play/pause, looping, file cursor and a few other things (like play all files in a directory one after another). Problem is that mine also suffers from high CPU usage (Acrobat - look at the windows task manager as well as the SM usage meter, it might give you a surprise).



This is excellent work.
I love the next previous files buttons.

Something like this would be excellent in this new waveplayer but there is a small? problem.

It seems your player loads EVERY file in the current folder into the ram?
Is it possible to only have it loading the previous and the next file to save ram?
When loading one track from a folder which contains an album or entire collection of music this is a must.

Other then that its one great player!
User avatar
aliasant
smunatic
 
Posts: 2388
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 5:49 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby exonerate on Mon Sep 24, 2007 11:43 am

It seems your player loads EVERY file in the current folder into the ram?


That reminds me of an example of doing it without loading to memory.

http://synthmaker.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4482&highlight=wave

cheers ;)

Exo
Flowstone Guru Blog and download site for Flowstone /Synthmaker!
Fightware - My Mobile fitness apps.
User avatar
exonerate
smaniac
 
Posts: 1504
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 1:57 pm
Location: England, West Yorkshire, Huddersfield

Postby aliasant on Mon Sep 24, 2007 1:16 pm

Thanx Exo. And thanx mdk =)

Will have to dig into this then. =)
User avatar
aliasant
smunatic
 
Posts: 2388
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 5:49 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby aliasant on Mon Sep 24, 2007 5:41 pm

Here is version 1.04 with the improved File Loading system.



http://martin.rodensjo.se/FileShack/SM%20Projects/files/WavePlayer%201.04.rarImage
It's never to late to be late.....
http://martinrodensjo.smugmug.com/
User avatar
aliasant
smunatic
 
Posts: 2388
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 5:49 pm
Location: Sweden

Next

Return to Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron