OSM not opening for other users

If you require help or assistance with anything then please post here

Moderators: electrogear, exonerate

OSM not opening for other users

Postby billv on Wed Feb 08, 2012 7:59 am

I recently updated my Synth (X11), and re-posted it. While I got no problems here, The OSM is not
opening for some people . I'm clueless at the moment.
I'm asking now for as many people as possible to download it and report back, did it open for you or not?
https://secure1.storegate.com/Shares/Home.aspx?ShareID=16a992da-b366-4785-8a52-224c41ccc0ce
BV MUSIC SYDNEY AUSTRALIA-http://users.tpg.com.au/billv
Songwriting & Software Development.
billv
essemilian
 
Posts: 348
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 3:20 pm
Location: Australia

Re: OSM not opening for other users

Postby nix on Wed Feb 08, 2012 8:48 am

Have you got 2 systems Bill?
I tried on laptop & desktop-
both crash
Sorry, I can't suggest anything to help.
One thing to do would be to get access to a system
where it crashes and chop modules out until it doesn't.
User avatar
nix
smaniac
 
Posts: 1173
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 11:25 am
Location: Australia

Re: OSM not opening for other users

Postby billv on Wed Feb 08, 2012 9:18 am

Yeh, just did that now. Used my little bro's cpu. It's just like mine, XP,a 2.33 Quad Core(the slowest they ever made).
Installed SM2, fired up X11.osm and no problems. Cut an exe,played with it-all good.
Downloaded a Standalone from my site-all good. A bit of a relief. at least.

I gave my mum a crappy old laptop years ago, so I tried that-and it Crashed SM2 straight away.

So is this a power issue?
Nix, how powerfull is your desktop?? What are you running?

I might have to issue a "minimum system requirements" statement for the OSM post.
BV MUSIC SYDNEY AUSTRALIA-http://users.tpg.com.au/billv
Songwriting & Software Development.
billv
essemilian
 
Posts: 348
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 3:20 pm
Location: Australia

Re: OSM not opening for other users

Postby CoreStyler on Wed Feb 08, 2012 9:23 am

For me opens quickly and works well.Opens in 3 seconds :D
Laptop. Intel core i7 quad 2.0ghz

You stolen Rob Papen Predator knobs 3:) 3:) whooaa :love:
http://www.thecorestylerz.net
Sound Design, synth development and websites building...
Image
SM COMMUNITY IS MOVING TO
www.synthmakers.net
User avatar
CoreStyler
essemilian
 
Posts: 476
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 1:25 pm

Re: OSM not opening for other users

Postby nix on Wed Feb 08, 2012 9:28 am

I don't think it's a minimum requirements thing.

My lappy is- i3 2.4ghz quad 2gig Win7
desktop- Core2duoXtreme 3.00ghz quad 3gig Vista (Dell XPS 720)

hmm
User avatar
nix
smaniac
 
Posts: 1173
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 11:25 am
Location: Australia

Re: OSM not opening for other users

Postby CoreStyler on Wed Feb 08, 2012 10:07 am

Maybe depending on RAM or OS?
Here some part of CPU-Z report:
Processor 1 ID = 0
Number of cores 4 (max 8)
Number of threads 8 (max 16)
Name Intel Core i7
Codename Sandy Bridge
Specification Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2630QM CPU @ 2.00GHz
Package (platform ID) Socket 988B rPGA (0x4)
CPUID 6.A.7
Extended CPUID 6.2A
Core Stepping D2
Technology 32 nm
TDP Limit 45 Watts
Core Speed 798.3 MHz
Multiplier x FSB 8.0 x 99.8 MHz
Stock frequency 2000 MHz
Instructions sets MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSSE3, SSE4.1, SSE4.2, EM64T, VT-x, AVX
L1 Data cache 4 x 32 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
L1 Instruction cache 4 x 32 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
L2 cache 4 x 256 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
L3 cache 6 MBytes, 12-way set associative, 64-byte line size
FID/VID Control yes

Turbo Mode supported, enabled
Max non-turbo ratio 20x
Max turbo ratio 29x
Max efficiency ratio 8x
Max Power 60 Watts
Min Power 40 Watts
O/C bins none

Chipset
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Northbridge Intel Sandy Bridge rev. 09
Southbridge Intel HM65 rev. 05
Memory Type DDR3
Memory Size 6144 MBytes
Channels Dual
Memory Frequency 665.3 MHz (1:5)
CAS# latency (CL) 9.0
RAS# to CAS# delay (tRCD) 9
RAS# Precharge (tRP) 9
Cycle Time (tRAS) 24
Command Rate (CR) 1T
MCHBAR I/O Base address 0x0FED10000
MCHBAR I/O Size 19456
MCHBAR registers

Memory SPD
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

DIMM # 1
SMBus address 0x50
Memory type DDR3
Module format SO-DIMM
Manufacturer (ID) Elpida (7F7FFE0000000000)
Size 4096 MBytes
Max bandwidth PC3-10700 (667 MHz)
Part number EBJ41UF8BCS0-DJ-F
Serial number CFD00C5B
Manufacturing date Week 18/Year 11
Number of banks 8
Nominal Voltage 1.50 Volts
EPP no
XMP no
JEDEC timings table CL-tRCD-tRP-tRAS-tRC @ frequency
JEDEC #1 5.0-5-5-14-19 @ 380 MHz
JEDEC #2 6.0-6-6-17-23 @ 457 MHz
JEDEC #3 7.0-7-7-20-27 @ 533 MHz
JEDEC #4 8.0-8-8-22-30 @ 609 MHz
JEDEC #5 9.0-9-9-25-34 @ 685 MHz
JEDEC #6 10.0-10-10-28-38 @ 761 MHz

DIMM # 2
SMBus address 0x52
Memory type DDR3
Module format SO-DIMM
Manufacturer (ID) Hyundai Electronics (AD00000000000000)
Size 2048 MBytes
Max bandwidth PC3-10700 (667 MHz)
Part number HMT325S6BFR8C-H9
Serial number 61491038
Manufacturing date Week 24/Year 11
Number of banks 8
Nominal Voltage 1.50 Volts
EPP no
XMP no
JEDEC timings table CL-tRCD-tRP-tRAS-tRC @ frequency
JEDEC #1 5.0-5-5-14-19 @ 380 MHz
JEDEC #2 6.0-6-6-17-23 @ 457 MHz
JEDEC #3 7.0-7-7-20-27 @ 533 MHz
JEDEC #4 8.0-8-8-22-30 @ 609 MHz
JEDEC #5 9.0-9-9-25-34 @ 685 MHz

Display Adapters
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Display adapter 0
Display name \\.\DISPLAY1
Name Intel(R) HD Graphics Family
Memory size -1260 MB
PCI device bus 0 (0x0), device 2 (0x2), function 0 (0x0)
Vendor ID 0x8086 (0x1043)
Model ID 0x0116 (0x1682)
Performance Level 0


Software
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Windows Version Microsoft Windows 7 (6.1) Home Premium Edition Service Pack 1 (Build 7601)
DirectX Version 11.0
http://www.thecorestylerz.net
Sound Design, synth development and websites building...
Image
SM COMMUNITY IS MOVING TO
www.synthmakers.net
User avatar
CoreStyler
essemilian
 
Posts: 476
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 1:25 pm

Re: OSM not opening for other users

Postby billv on Wed Feb 08, 2012 12:26 pm

CoreStyler wrote:For me opens quickly and works well.Opens in 3 seconds :D

Good to hear.
CoreStyler wrote:You stolen Rob Papen Predator knobs 3:)

Ha ha, my fault for not thanking the guy who posted em' in graphics section.
nix wrote:I don't think it's a minimum requirements thing.
My lappy is- i3 2.4ghz quad 2gig Win7
desktop- Core2duoXtreme 3.00ghz quad 3gig Vista (Dell XPS 720)

Jeez Nix, That's not what I expected to hear. That's heaps of power. That put's me back to square one.
Don't get it. It should open. It's not that big a synth.
I'm crashing.

Hey"Corestyler", if you go poking about inside, and see something that could be causing issues, let me know.
And thanks for having a go at it.
BV MUSIC SYDNEY AUSTRALIA-http://users.tpg.com.au/billv
Songwriting & Software Development.
billv
essemilian
 
Posts: 348
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 3:20 pm
Location: Australia

Re: OSM not opening for other users

Postby CoreStyler on Wed Feb 08, 2012 1:28 pm

What edition of SM? free pro or enterprise?
http://www.thecorestylerz.net
Sound Design, synth development and websites building...
Image
SM COMMUNITY IS MOVING TO
www.synthmakers.net
User avatar
CoreStyler
essemilian
 
Posts: 476
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 1:25 pm

Re: OSM not opening for other users

Postby nix on Wed Feb 08, 2012 6:40 pm

SM2 Pro here, the latest version.
User avatar
nix
smaniac
 
Posts: 1173
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 11:25 am
Location: Australia

Re: OSM not opening for other users

Postby billv on Wed Feb 08, 2012 7:33 pm

nix wrote:SM2 Pro here, the latest version

Yes, same here.

nix wrote:One thing to do would be to get access to a system
where it crashes and chop modules out until it doesn't.

Yeh, time to reverse engineer.
I'm confident in finding the problem today. There's just 3 things between 1.2 and the 1.3 Update-
1. X box controller
2. Visual display unit.
3. Tabs
So I'll just take em out, one by one, till she runs on the crappy laptop.
BV MUSIC SYDNEY AUSTRALIA-http://users.tpg.com.au/billv
Songwriting & Software Development.
billv
essemilian
 
Posts: 348
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 3:20 pm
Location: Australia

Re: OSM not opening for other users

Postby CoreStyler on Wed Feb 08, 2012 8:58 pm

Did save any kind of setting/preset on the disk? sometimes SM give strange things.
For example, one of my synth crashed when exporting a bank. I change the "total" programs into the preset manager, then... return to the previus set.. then bug disapper.
This was surely because some old data was present into the preset n*64 (the last).
Some data to "trigger block" maybe?
http://www.thecorestylerz.net
Sound Design, synth development and websites building...
Image
SM COMMUNITY IS MOVING TO
www.synthmakers.net
User avatar
CoreStyler
essemilian
 
Posts: 476
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 1:25 pm

Re: OSM not opening for other users

Postby billv on Wed Feb 08, 2012 9:08 pm

Ran the tests. It was the X Box controller causing it. I replaced it with the new X Box Module I posted the other day
in examples, and no problems. It opens in my crappy laptop.
X11 has been updated to 1.4 and re-uploaded.
Nix, have another go.
BUG REPORT:
I did notice that when the x-box was engaged inside SM, I kept having issues resizing the toolbox or even getting
access to it. I'm presuming this is Graphics card related. I've had same thing happen before when the synth gets big.
I also saved the osm without pressing the btn to activate the X box control. I'm 99% sure, that as I saved the OSM,
the controller was active, and stayed that way in the file.
So when you try and start it up, the OSM is saying"I'm built to have the controller on", but the default behaviour of the X-box module is nothing untill you hit a pushbutton.
So that's where I think it was spitting the dummy.
BV MUSIC SYDNEY AUSTRALIA-http://users.tpg.com.au/billv
Songwriting & Software Development.
billv
essemilian
 
Posts: 348
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 3:20 pm
Location: Australia

Re: OSM not opening for other users

Postby nix on Wed Feb 08, 2012 9:53 pm

Yep, it's up 8D
Thanks for chasing down the problem.
I'll have a poke around the arrangement/triggers view.
I want to do this too,
make a generative sequencer.
User avatar
nix
smaniac
 
Posts: 1173
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 11:25 am
Location: Australia

Re: OSM not opening for other users

Postby billv on Wed Feb 08, 2012 11:01 pm

nix wrote:Yep, it's up

Wicked. Got to love squashing a bug.
You were right again Nix, it wasn't performance related. Which is great cause I want to keep going with it.
nix wrote:I want to do this too,
make a generative sequencer

Let me know if i can help in any way.
Note that with my work, there's not much, if any, serious DSP involved. So it seems to me that a crucial part
of "a generative sequencer" is how it's layed out. How it's designed. I like some of the ones in "Reaktor", well
worth the download to check it out if you havn't already been there.
CoreStyler wrote:setting/preset

Note: There's no program manager in X11. Not designed for VST plug in, just standalone at the moment.
I don't want that trouble maker in there at the moment. Less work too. Don't have to name everything.
I love that part.
Thanks again guys.
BV MUSIC SYDNEY AUSTRALIA-http://users.tpg.com.au/billv
Songwriting & Software Development.
billv
essemilian
 
Posts: 348
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 3:20 pm
Location: Australia


Return to Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest