Mac OSX version?

Suggest new features, components or other changes to the software

Moderator: electrogear

Re: Mac OSX version?

Postby tgmx on Wed Jul 13, 2011 11:37 am

sorry double post
tgmx
essemer
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 2:49 pm

Re: Mac OSX version?

Postby infuzion on Wed Jul 13, 2011 1:56 pm

tgmx wrote:...because you needed pluggo libraries to be installed, so i can't call it exactly an export.
That is exactly how SM works also, except that DLL is wrapped inside the VST/exe. I think anyone can still run Max/MSP5 if the user has the run-time libraries, but I'm not sure.
Need help? First search the forum & WiKi, then post in the help forum with a clear topic, request, & OSM. Then please WiKi the correct solution. If you want my personal assistance, I charge by the hour or for an exchange of services.
infuzion
smstar
smstar
 
Posts: 6169
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 8:02 pm
Location: Earth, USA, CO, Denver

Re: Mac OSX version?

Postby nix on Thu Jul 14, 2011 7:27 am

You can create an .exe with Max.
You need some support files in it's folder though.
The RunTime is included when you export the .exe.
User avatar
nix
smaniac
 
Posts: 1173
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 11:25 am
Location: Australia

Re: Mac OSX version?

Postby nix on Sun Sep 11, 2011 10:58 pm

OK,
I have some good news!
SM works on CrossOver, a Windows emulator that runs without booting.
The CoreAudio default setup has some latency,
but u can fix it, and still use the internal soundcard.
WineASIO needs to be installed, then latency is fine to play.
There is a GDI and corefonts fix u need to install into CrossOver.
So there is a little fuffing around, but nothing u need a degree in computing
to do.
So yeah, SM run on Mac now 8D
I am just trying to fix the toolbox now.
It responds really sluggish.
You can export .exe in SM while on Mac, and load these too w/- CrossOver.
Still trying to get VSTs to work.
Much cheer folk
Will come back and post a screen soon
User avatar
nix
smaniac
 
Posts: 1173
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 11:25 am
Location: Australia

Re: Mac OSX version?

Postby infuzion on Mon Sep 12, 2011 12:38 am

nix wrote:OK, I have some good news! SM works on CrossOver, a Windows emulator that runs without booting.
The CoreAudio default setup has some latency,
If you get this working, I will vote you SMManic of the year!
Really, all I'm interested in is running all Win VSTs, but esp SM VSTs/exes. I think editing might be better with a dual boot.
Can you load multiple VSTs inside CrossOver? Maybe need a host?
Need help? First search the forum & WiKi, then post in the help forum with a clear topic, request, & OSM. Then please WiKi the correct solution. If you want my personal assistance, I charge by the hour or for an exchange of services.
infuzion
smstar
smstar
 
Posts: 6169
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 8:02 pm
Location: Earth, USA, CO, Denver

Re: Mac OSX version?

Postby nix on Mon Sep 12, 2011 1:02 am

I just did a clean install into a new Win Vista bottle to see if I could get the toolbox quicker(as I made a mess getting it up). I also got the pro version of CrossOver. I had a little success, coz it's slightly quicker. If you have a toolbox menu open that only has a few items in it, it is as quick as Widows.
Yes, certainly need at least a host for VST. I will be testing with Usine & eXT.
CrossOver is not essentially an audio app, the wineasio.dll goes into it though.
If it didn't work 4 u, try installing Jack too. I have it so Jack doesn't need to be running though.
I suspect all u need is CrossOver w/- the GDI & CoreFonts fixes, + wineasio.dll (for the small latency).
SM .exe s work great. U can even compile them on the Mac.
The biggest problem is the speed of the toolbox at this stage.
hmm, I have checked out the ticks too. They do tick, but tick100 is only about 25hz.
Would be great if u can get this up too,
any Qs about it, hit me up. Here is a handy thread:-
http://forum.winehq.org/viewtopic.php?t ... 06cc81729d
I am on OSX 10.5.8
Here are the details for GDI & CoreFonts->
http://www.codeweavers.com/compatibilit ... msg=107593
PS-the wineasio we need comes from meskalina site
User avatar
nix
smaniac
 
Posts: 1173
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 11:25 am
Location: Australia

Re: Mac OSX version?

Postby infuzion on Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:57 am

nix wrote:hmm, I have checked out the ticks too. They do tick, but tick100 is only about 25hz.
I only need a semi-steady 14-20Hz for window redraws. Another good reason to use my Heartbeat... BTW how is the Tick25 please?

I am still trying to understand how to use Windows VSTs in OSX? How will you get the 2 sides communicate to each other? You need more than audio from CrossOver to OSX; you'll need 2-way MIDI control, audio from OSX to CrossOver VSTfx, etc...

How much extra CPU% is there then with CrossOver vs native OSX VSTs please?
TIA
Need help? First search the forum & WiKi, then post in the help forum with a clear topic, request, & OSM. Then please WiKi the correct solution. If you want my personal assistance, I charge by the hour or for an exchange of services.
infuzion
smstar
smstar
 
Posts: 6169
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 8:02 pm
Location: Earth, USA, CO, Denver

Re: Mac OSX version?

Postby nix on Mon Sep 12, 2011 3:44 am

Tick25 is 25hz I think also.
I have just now been trying to get the VSTs up.
No luck getting WineASIO to work with Usine or eXT2,
but I have aciddose xhip working in eXT1 with a Korg nanokeys.
Now I try to get my SM VSTi working.
I'm not sure how the communication will work with say Logic.
Maybe the program Jack is our animal.
I'm not sure how to check CPU on Mac, will google, man.
Anyway, I need now to sort out the GDI stuff again for XT1.
Getting there, will keep trying.
It's cool though, XT1 work with low latency,
just gotta crack the SM graphics stuff again.
I think XT1 needs Jack, and SM doesn't at this point.
Cheers
User avatar
nix
smaniac
 
Posts: 1173
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 11:25 am
Location: Australia

Re: Mac OSX version?

Postby nix on Mon Sep 12, 2011 4:11 am

Kay,
The CPU use is off the dial.
40% on a core2duo MacPro to run my Entrancer(VSTi),
w/- eXT 1.
hmm
But,yeah, I got an SM VSTi to work :)
no noticeable latency w/- my nanokeys

Oh, I see what you mean u wonder how it works-
well I am just running Windows hosts w/- windows VSTs.
It's not like a bitbridge or something.

Damn CPU. It's a pity. Maybe I can find a DAW that works good.
Will test now how SM goes CPU-wise.
User avatar
nix
smaniac
 
Posts: 1173
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 11:25 am
Location: Australia

Re: Mac OSX version?

Postby nix on Mon Sep 12, 2011 10:05 pm

Kay,
SM is much better than eXT1 for CPU usage.
My Entrancer use 12% when the wine ASIO is engaged.
The .exe I have exported on the Mac is the same.
It use only a little more when start playing I think.
So now searching a lean DAW.
Yay!
It should really idle at nothing though I guess.
It does on Windows.
Maybe I can contact the CrossOver peeps,
like IL have, and improve performance.
Screens this evening :)
ps-I really could use Usine,
if anyone wants to have a lash at getting
WineASIO to run in it.
User avatar
nix
smaniac
 
Posts: 1173
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 11:25 am
Location: Australia

Re: Mac OSX version?

Postby infuzion on Sat Sep 24, 2011 8:22 pm

How goes the SM VST on OSX exploration going Nix?
Need help? First search the forum & WiKi, then post in the help forum with a clear topic, request, & OSM. Then please WiKi the correct solution. If you want my personal assistance, I charge by the hour or for an exchange of services.
infuzion
smstar
smstar
 
Posts: 6169
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 8:02 pm
Location: Earth, USA, CO, Denver

Re: Mac OSX version?

Postby nix on Sun Sep 25, 2011 7:33 am

Sorry man,
no progress.
R u running Mac?
I wonder what next to try.
Perhaps the partnership between IL&CrossOver will bear fruit as far
as quick drivers with low overhead.
I could contact them and see what they say.
I need to bell them about Usine anyway.
hmm, definitely IMO the problem with VFX is lack of
support on Mac for GDI.
Hmm,
at this point u can tell ur customers though,
if they invest another $60 Aus.(?) for CrossOver
they can play a MIDI keyboard w/- SM .exe on a
modern Mac.
A little fuffing around is necessary, but basically u just need a bottle with wine!
& GDI fix.
User avatar
nix
smaniac
 
Posts: 1173
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 11:25 am
Location: Australia

Re: Mac OSX version?

Postby infuzion on Mon Sep 26, 2011 2:08 am

I guess bug them for GDI improvements then?
Need help? First search the forum & WiKi, then post in the help forum with a clear topic, request, & OSM. Then please WiKi the correct solution. If you want my personal assistance, I charge by the hour or for an exchange of services.
infuzion
smstar
smstar
 
Posts: 6169
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 8:02 pm
Location: Earth, USA, CO, Denver

Re: Mac OSX version?

Postby nix on Mon Sep 26, 2011 7:12 pm

Yeah,
we could.
I have written a polyphonic sequencer,
So we could use that in VFX.
Prolly it is a better option to use a DAW though.
Hmm, I'll run it and see what the CPU
is like in VFX.
Also check what driver it use.
User avatar
nix
smaniac
 
Posts: 1173
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 11:25 am
Location: Australia

Previous

Return to Ideas and Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron