More workspace.

Suggest new features, components or other changes to the software

Moderator: electrogear

More workspace.

Postby Tzarls on Fri Mar 05, 2010 5:09 am

Could we have a larger workspace, like twice of thrice the height and twice the width? I´ve found that sometimes the space is a little bit reduced for complex schematics.
Tzarls
smanatic
 
Posts: 770
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 5:43 am
Location: Peru

Re: More workspace.

Postby trogluddite on Fri Mar 05, 2010 2:38 pm

+1. I find myself getting a little cramped too.
Feel free to use any schematics and algorithms I post on the forum in your own designs - a credit is appreciated (but not a requirement).
Don't stagnate, mutate to create. Without randomness and serendipity the earth would be just another barren rock.
User avatar
trogluddite
smychopath
 
Posts: 3032
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Re: More workspace.

Postby Disco_Steve on Fri Mar 05, 2010 10:15 pm

YES PLEASE!!!!
double the area would be fantastic!

+100 000
- the future sounds better.
User avatar
Disco_Steve
essemilian
 
Posts: 396
Joined: Sun May 27, 2007 10:02 am
Location: UK

Re: More workspace.

Postby TheAudiophileDutchman on Sat Mar 06, 2010 10:42 am

Votes = Votes + 1 :)
“In case of doubt, make it sound convincing ” - extract from Murphy's Law
User avatar
TheAudiophileDutchman
essemilian
 
Posts: 368
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 5:28 pm
Location: Made in Holland

Re: More workspace.

Postby oddson on Sat Mar 06, 2010 5:40 pm

Really?

I certainly don't object to the idea (at least provided there's no serious trade-off like significantly increasing the memory requirement of the program) but I think it says something about your style of working if you find the current work environment too cramped.

I guess there's an assumption that module levels slow down the processing of data -- as I can't see any other reason for trying to keep so much at one level.

I'd like to know how much this is really an issue since I use module hierarchy extensively to keep my stuff organized.
oddson
wiki guru
 
Posts: 3889
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2005 6:44 pm

Re: More workspace.

Postby exonerate on Sat Mar 06, 2010 7:27 pm

I think the workspace should be unlimited in size. :D I mean why even have a limit?

The workspace could have a default size like it does now (which could actually be much smaller), but when a component is moved to the very edge of the workspace the workspace would get larger. So basically a dynamically resizing workspace. :)

This wouldn't be so hard to do either, when moving a component a comparison could be taking place to see if it is near the edge of the workspace if it is increase the workspace by so many squares. It's just a case of replacing the hard coded width and height with a variable which gets added too when a component gets near it. :)

I think it would be fairly simple making it work that way.

Cheers ;)

Exo
The Developer Toolkit -- A collection of over 150 modules and counting. Available from the Registered Users forum.
Fightware - my latest Project.
User avatar
exonerate
smaniac
 
Posts: 1503
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 1:57 pm
Location: England, West Yorkshire, Huddersfield

Re: More workspace.

Postby Tzarls on Sat Mar 06, 2010 7:38 pm

@Oddson: I too like to make my schematics very "modular" and that, but sometimes you just need the extra space, for example if you need more than 128 ins/outs in a module/code/ASM. Of course, more space is always an opportunity to make a bigger mess. ;)
Tzarls
smanatic
 
Posts: 770
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 5:43 am
Location: Peru

Re: More workspace.

Postby sunsynth on Sat Mar 06, 2010 10:35 pm

Yeah exo - u have the right idea: dynamic would be a nice feature!

so +1
User avatar
sunsynth
smaniac
 
Posts: 1496
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 3:27 pm
Location: HH - Made in Germany

Re: More workspace.

Postby Disco_Steve on Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:51 pm

I would like teh workspace larger, because I've got a window which you can scroll though, and I can't make it bigger than the workspace, and I need just a hint larger. so double would be great.
also I've got projects with 192 bi-quads in, it's very modular, but I need more space so that I can space things out enough to make it nice and readable
- the future sounds better.
User avatar
Disco_Steve
essemilian
 
Posts: 396
Joined: Sun May 27, 2007 10:02 am
Location: UK

Re: More workspace.

Postby sunsynth on Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:56 pm

Or if dynamic is 2 complicated to implement: a size option in the Setup menu...
User avatar
sunsynth
smaniac
 
Posts: 1496
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 3:27 pm
Location: HH - Made in Germany

Re: More workspace.

Postby MichaelBenjamin on Sun Mar 07, 2010 2:34 pm

if this is easy to implement i would appreciate if the size could be increased, but its a minor issue for me.
User avatar
MichaelBenjamin
smaniac
 
Posts: 1439
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 3:26 pm

Re: More workspace.

Postby Acrobat on Sun Mar 07, 2010 6:30 pm

I understand your needs, but sometimes a limited space is preferrable,
I use it as an ADVICE that I've gone a bit too far and complex... 3:)
User avatar
Acrobat
smaniac
 
Posts: 1666
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 10:50 pm
Location: Roma, Italia

Re: More workspace.

Postby ccpurno on Fri Mar 19, 2010 12:11 pm

+1 for more workspace

needed to make a wavetable selector of 150 ins: just does not fit.

CC
ccpurno
essemist
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 6:15 pm
Location: NL

Re: More workspace.

Postby attic on Tue Apr 27, 2010 6:55 am

+1 This is really needed and I think about twice the space is right. the overlapping module hell I have going on right now is creating some unneeded insanity. I would also like to see a scroll bar on the right side and top of the workspace area.
A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools.

North Bay Music Attic
User avatar
attic
essemilian
 
Posts: 475
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 12:40 pm
Location: San Francisco California

Re: More workspace.

Postby fabb on Sun Jun 27, 2010 5:46 pm

exonerate wrote:The workspace could have a default size like it does now (which could actually be much smaller), but when a component is moved to the very edge of the workspace the workspace would get larger. So basically a dynamically resizing workspace. :)

yes. most important: that way being able to move new modules to the left/top (unlimited workspace in all directions).
User avatar
fabb
essemist
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 8:06 pm

Next

Return to Ideas and Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest