Search within schematic

Suggest new features, components or other changes to the software

Moderator: electrogear

Search within schematic

Postby ccpurno on Wed Jun 23, 2010 1:15 pm

Hi,

as a follow up for:
viewtopic.php?f=5&t=6295&start=0&st=0&sk=t&sd=a&hilit=search
viewtopic.php?f=5&t=5324&p=39701&hilit=search#p39701
viewtopic.php?f=5&t=1785&p=15423&hilit=search#p15423

wouldn't it be great to have a way to search a specific primitive/component name in your schematic?!

The results would display in a list that can be clicked to jump to that component.

This would make it much easier to:
- replace superceeded components
- find a certain problem causing component (like often mentioned on the forum posts)
- find certain structures that needs changes/fixing

CC
Last edited by ccpurno on Wed Jun 23, 2010 10:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ccpurno
essemist
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 6:15 pm
Location: NL

Re: Search within schematic

Postby MegaHurtz on Wed Jun 23, 2010 4:49 pm

Yes it would be nice.
Instantly takes my mind to reaktors right click menu for searching primitives. :love:
Aliassing.. No, Bad logics.. Yes.
User avatar
MegaHurtz
smaniac
 
Posts: 1610
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 5:29 pm
Location: Eindhoven/Netherlands

Re: Search within schematic

Postby DigitalWhiteByte on Wed Jun 23, 2010 9:27 pm

+ 1 ;)
User avatar
DigitalWhiteByte
smanatic
 
Posts: 697
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 1:07 am
Location: Milano - Italy

Re: Search within schematic

Postby trogluddite on Wed Jun 23, 2010 9:39 pm

+1. Excellent idea.
Feel free to use any schematics and algorithms I post on the forum in your own designs - a credit is appreciated (but not a requirement).
Don't stagnate, mutate to create. Without randomness and serendipity the earth would be just another barren rock.
User avatar
trogluddite
smychopath
 
Posts: 3032
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Re: Search within schematic

Postby infuzion on Wed Jun 23, 2010 10:51 pm

Long overdue...
along with SSE2 & SSE3 support, OSX support, higher-accuracy green data, etc.

I wouldn't mind at least an OSM export as text, then we could atleast find what we want.
Need help? First search the forum & WiKi, then post in the help forum with a clear topic, request, & OSM. Then please WiKi the correct solution. If you want my personal assistance, I charge by the hour or for an exchange of services.
infuzion
smstar
smstar
 
Posts: 6169
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 8:02 pm
Location: Earth, USA, CO, Denver

Re: Search within schematic

Postby ccpurno on Thu Jun 24, 2010 6:01 am

I must admit that higher accuracy green data is my number 1!
Maybe we can have a poll?

Choices like:

- More accurate green data
- x64 host support
- SSE2/SSE3 support
- OSX Support
- Dev kit
- Search inside osm

Shall we start a thread to define the choices of the poll?

CC
ccpurno
essemist
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 6:15 pm
Location: NL

Re: Search within schematic

Postby aliasant on Thu Jun 24, 2010 7:35 am

ccpurno wrote:Shall we start a thread to define the choices of the poll?

CC


Isnt there already a bunch of threads like that?
It's never to late to be late.....
http://martinrodensjo.smugmug.com/
User avatar
aliasant
smunatic
 
Posts: 2388
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 5:49 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Search within schematic

Postby ccpurno on Thu Jun 24, 2010 10:19 am

I guess so..
But I don't see a poll yet..

Shall we start one?

I now have:

- More accurate green data
- x64 host support
- SSE2/SSE3 support
- OSX Support
- Dev kit
- Search inside osm
ccpurno
essemist
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 6:15 pm
Location: NL

Re: Search within schematic

Postby infuzion on Thu Jun 24, 2010 1:39 pm

ccpurno wrote:I now have:
- Search inside osm
I would expand this to "- Better OSM interaction (global search/replace, bookmarks, text & picture export)
+ lockable modules
+ better OS interaction (M U L T I T O U C H, mouse wheel, middle+ mouse buttons)

Man, how can you forget all the threads on multitouch? ;)
Need help? First search the forum & WiKi, then post in the help forum with a clear topic, request, & OSM. Then please WiKi the correct solution. If you want my personal assistance, I charge by the hour or for an exchange of services.
infuzion
smstar
smstar
 
Posts: 6169
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 8:02 pm
Location: Earth, USA, CO, Denver

Re: Search within schematic

Postby ccpurno on Sat Jun 26, 2010 7:45 am

hehehe... I think those were also related to dev kit?
Meaning, if we have a dev kit, we have multi touch??
ccpurno
essemist
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 6:15 pm
Location: NL

Re: Search within schematic

Postby fabb on Sun Jun 27, 2010 5:42 pm

+1 for search, also within textbox text. i distribute my TODOs all around a schematic in those... the finding again is the problem, yes!
User avatar
fabb
essemist
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 8:06 pm

Re: Search within schematic

Postby trogluddite on Sun Jun 27, 2010 7:03 pm

After a day rummaging through an 6 month old file, I realised I need this....
Right click on a wireless link, and select 'Where the hell is the other end of this connection?'
Feel free to use any schematics and algorithms I post on the forum in your own designs - a credit is appreciated (but not a requirement).
Don't stagnate, mutate to create. Without randomness and serendipity the earth would be just another barren rock.
User avatar
trogluddite
smychopath
 
Posts: 3032
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Re: Search within schematic

Postby infuzion on Sun Jun 27, 2010 7:31 pm

Really this makes old-school programming in text much more superior than GUI-only programming. A good code editor will have "Search-all", auto-completion, & even jump to the routine.
Need help? First search the forum & WiKi, then post in the help forum with a clear topic, request, & OSM. Then please WiKi the correct solution. If you want my personal assistance, I charge by the hour or for an exchange of services.
infuzion
smstar
smstar
 
Posts: 6169
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 8:02 pm
Location: Earth, USA, CO, Denver

Re: Search within schematic

Postby aliasant on Mon Jun 28, 2010 6:56 am

trogluddite wrote:After a day rummaging through an 6 month old file, I realised I need this....
Right click on a wireless link, and select 'Where the hell is the other end of this connection?'


I need this almost every day. Instead I spend hours trying to find em little bastrrds....
It's never to late to be late.....
http://martinrodensjo.smugmug.com/
User avatar
aliasant
smunatic
 
Posts: 2388
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 5:49 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Search within schematic

Postby Acrobat on Thu Jul 08, 2010 2:31 pm

+1
search could have optional checkbox: "Search also in labels" - I use to label primitives a lot, do you?
User avatar
Acrobat
smaniac
 
Posts: 1666
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 10:50 pm
Location: Roma, Italia

Next

Return to Ideas and Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 0 guests